Friday, August 14, 2015

Dave Davies Takes NYC By Storm!

Dave Davies' Rippin’ Up New York City
Former Kinks guitarist and frequent songwriter Dave Davies has been making up for lost time since suffering a stroke in 2004. In the decade since, he’s released three solo albums, including last year’s critically-acclaimed Rippin’ Up Time. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee did a short tour in support of that album, and on September 4th, 2015, Red River Entertainment will release Davies’ Rippin’ Up New York City: Live at the City Winery.

Culled from a pair of New York City performances on November 24th and 25th, Rippin' Up New York City features Davies, guitarist Jonathan Lea, bassist/keyboardist Tom Currier, and former Smithereens drummer Dennis Diken. The City Winery shows balanced material from Davies’ new album with Kinks’ klassics like “All Day and All of the Night” and “You Really Got Me,” as well as lesser-known but no less powerful tunes like “I’m Not Like Everybody Else” and “Death of A Clown.”

Davies’ new songs hold their own with those from his legendary former band, rockers like “Front Room” and “King of Karaoke” prompting the Reverend to deem Rippin’ Up Time a “snortin’, stompin’, hard-rockin’ record that entertains, Davie Davies’ earnest music evincing more heart that nearly any other album released this year.” In a press release for Rippin’ Up New York City, Davies says “I’m very excited about the live album, and the band sounds great. My son Simon did a great job helping me with the production.” With a tour in support of the live album being scheduled, Davies adds “I look forward to seeing you all on the road this fall.”

Dave Davies’ Rippin’ Up New York City tracklist:
1. Intro
2. Rippin' Up Time
3. I’m Not Like Everybody Else
4. I Need You
5. Creepin’ Jean
6. Suzannah’s Still Alive
7. See My Friend
8. Strangers
9. Flowers in the Rain
10. Front Room
11. King of Karaoke
12. Death of A Clown
13. Livin' On A Thin Line
14. Where Have All the Good Times Gone
15. All Day and All of the Night
16. You Really Got Me

Related Content: Dave Davies' Rippin' Up Time CD review

No comments: