Thursday, March 24, 2016

Todd Rundgren’s Box O’ Todd Live Box Set

Todd Rundgren's Box O'Todd

With so many new album releases every month, it’s easy to overlook something specific that may scratch a musical itch that’s been running like drunken chiggers across your cerebellum. One such release that may have flown under your well-tuned rock ‘n’ roll radar is Box O’Todd, a three-disc, limited edition live box set from legendary singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Todd Rundgren released on March 18th, 2016 by Purple Pyramid, a subsidiary of Cleopatra Records.

Rundgren, of course, has left his mark on rock music as both an artist and producer. After making his bones as an integral member of the bands Nazz and Runt (really a Todd solo vehicle), Rundgren launched his solo career in earnest in 1971 with the classic double-album Something/Anything, on which he played all the instruments on three sides of the disc. Rundgren would subsequently release classic albums like Todd, Faithful, and Hermit of Mink Hollow, finding moderate commercial success and the occasional hit single; his side band, Utopia, provided an outlet for Rundgren’s more outré instrumental compositions. As a producer, Rundgren has worked on classic albums by artists like Meatloaf, the New York Dolls, and Grand Funk Railroad as well as recordings by XTC, Hall & Oates, Sparks, and the Tubes, among others, and he continues to tour and record to this day.   

Todd Rundgren's Box O'Todd
Box O’Todd features previously unreleased (but frequently bootlegged) live in-studio performances which were all originally broadcast on FM radio at the time. Disc one features a 1971 performance by Rundgren, backed by the Hello People, which was originally broadcast on WMMR-FM in Philadelphia. The Hello People were an odd late 1970s/early ‘80s band that mixed mime and music, and they served as Rundgren’s touring band for a while (Todd also produced their 1975 LP Bricks). The performance offers a mix of songs by Rundgren and the Hello People.

Disc two of Box O’Todd captures a 1972 performance by Rundgren and the Hello People, originally broadcast from the UltraSonic Studios on WLIR-FM radio in Long Island, New York. The third disc of the box features a 1973 performance in Cincinnati which was broadcast by WKRQ-FM and features an early performance by Rundgren with his band Utopia. Box O’Todd also comes with a 20-page booklet featuring liner notes by esteemed writer Dave Thompson (a buddy of mine), rare color photos, a signature guitar pick, three collectible pins, and a backstage pass – goodies that will certainly appeal to the hardcore Todd fan – as will three discs of great live music. 

Buy the CD box from Todd Rundgren's Box O'Todd

+ + + + +

Box O’Todd track list:

DISC 1 - Live From Philadelphia 1971
1. Banter & Soundcheck
2. Believe In Me
3. Lady On The Terrace
4. I Got My Pipe
5. It Wouldn't Have Made Any Difference
6. Rock All Over Again
7. Everybody In The Congregation
8. Broke Down & Busted
9. Tonight I Wanna Love Me A Stranger
10. Ooh Baby Baby
11. Hold Me Tight (Excerpt)
12. Before I Grow Too Old
13. Be Nice To Me
14. I'm Feelin' Better
15. The Ballad (Denny & Jean)

DISC 2 - Ultrasonic Studios 1972
1. Broke Down & Busted
2. Georgia Swing
3. Outside Love
4. Piss Aaron
5. A Dream Goes On Forever
6. I Saw The Light
7. It Wouldn't Have Made Any Difference
8. Feels So Good to Be Alive
9. Mad Red Ant Lady
10. Blaze
11. Lady On The Terrace
12. Slut

DISC 3 - Counterpart Studios Cincinnati 1973
1. Intro
2. I Saw The Light
3. A Dream Goes On Forever
4. Piss Aaron
5. Lord Chancellor's Nightmare Song
6. Hello It's Me
7. Banter
8. Utopia Theme
9. Black Maria
10. Hungry For Love
11. The Ikon (Segments)

No comments: